

College of Engineering Committees

2019-2020

(Final as of 10/8/2019)

<u>COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING SECRETARY</u>: (is elected at the first meeting of the academic year. The tenure of the Secretary is for (2) years and the term begins upon election)

W. Xu (ME)

(term ends 8/21)

PERSONNEL TENURE AND PROMOTION: (members elected by respective Departments in September [AE & ME in odd years; CCEE & ECE in even years] and serve (2) year terms; Chair selected from the membership of the Committee which served the previous year)

| S. Sharma (CHAIR – ECE) | (term ends 8/20) |
|--|------------------|
| J. Katz (AE) | (term ends 8/21) |
| J. Valdes (CCEE – Z. Bayasi stepped down and J. Valdes will complete remainder of Z. Bayasi term through 8/20) | (term ends 8/20) |
| A. Beyene (ME) | (term ends 8/21) |

[UPTRP Representative: K. Morsi (ME) elected to UPTRP Committee (term ends 8/21)]

ACADEMIC POLICY AND PLANNING: (members elected by respective Departments and serve (3) year terms; members are eligible for re-election; Chair elected by the Committee at the beginning of each year)

| S. Kumar (CHAIR - ECE) | (term ends 8/21) |
|--------------------------------|------------------|
| G. Jacobs (AE) | (term ends 8/21) |
| H. Tavakol (CCEE) | (term ends 8/22) |
| A. Beyene (ME) | (term ends 8/21) |
| E. Olevsky (Dean) – ex-officio | |

<u>CURRICULUM</u>: (members elected by respective Departments and serve (2) year terms; Chair elected by the Committee at the beginning of each year)

| G. Youssef (CHAIR - ME) | (term ends 8/21) |
|-------------------------|------------------|
| J. Katz (AE) | (term ends 8/21) |
| N. Mladenov (CCEE) | (term ends 8/20) |
| E. Engin (ECE) | (term ends 8/20) |

<u>CONSTITUTION AND BYLAWS</u>: (members elected by respective Departments [AE & CCEE terms expire in January of even years; ME & ECE terms expire in January of odd years] and serve (2) year terms; Chair is the College Parliamentarian and is elected by the faculty at-large)

| J. Valdes - Parliamentarian & Chair (CCEE) | (term ends 8/21) |
|--|------------------|
| B. Narang (AE) | (term ends 1/20) |
| T. Mitropoulos (CCEE) | (term ends 1/20) |
| E. Engin (ECE) | (term ends 1/21) |
| K. Morsi (ME) | (term ends 1/21) |

SCHOLARSHIP AND AWARDS: (members elected by respective Departments and serve (2) year terms; AE & ECE members elected in odd years, CCEE & ME elected in even years; Chair elected by the Committee at the beginning of each year)

| S. Seshagiri (CHAIR - ECE) | (term ends 8/21) |
|--|------------------|
| J. Chen (AE) | (term ends 8/21) |
| R. Akhavian (CCEE – A. Kinoshita stepped down and R. Akhavian will complete remainder of A. Kinoshita term through 8/20) | (term ends 8/20) |

INTRAMURAL GRANTS COMMITTEE (formerly RSCA): (members elected by respective Departments and serve (1) year term; Chair elected by the Committee; a graduate student member selected by Committee)

| S. Nagaraj (CHAIR - ECE) | (term ends 8/20) |
|--------------------------|------------------|
| S. Venkataraman (AE) | (term ends 8/20) |
| A. Kinoshita (CCEE) | (term ends 8/20) |
| P. Naseradinmousavi (ME) | (term ends 8/20) |

F. Miller (ME)

(term ends 8/20)



AD-HOC COMMITTEES

<u>GRADUATE STUDIES AND RESEARCH PROGRAMS COMMITTEE:</u> (members made up of Department Graduate Advisors, JDP Director, and Associate Dean (Chair) called by the Dean and Executive Committee to serve indefinitely as of 9/24/08 Executive Committee Meeting)

S. Venkataraman (AE)

T. Alves (CCEE)

M. Sarkar (ECE)

F. Miller (ME)

S. Kassegne (BioEng)

<u>COMPUTER INFRASTRUCUTURE AND SOFTWARE COMMITTEE</u>: (Members made up of Department Chairs, IT Lead, and Associate Dean. This committee was recomposed at the 9/24/08 Executive Committee Meeting)

W. Nguyen (IT Lead) - Chair

- G. Jacobs & P. Lu (Chair, AE)
- A. Jahangiri & J. Supernak (Chair, CCEE)
- C. Paolini & Chris Mi (Chair, ECE)
- A. Bhalla & J. Abraham (Chair, ME)

- T. Garoma (Interim Assoc. Dean for Graduate Studies & Research) - ex-officio

INTERNATIONAL PROGRAMS COMMITTEE: (Members made up of faculty with existing International Study-Abroad Programs, and the Assistant Dean of Engineering for Student Affairs)

T. Garcia (Assistant Dean of Student Affairs) - Chair

N. Nosseir (AE)

- J. Supernak (CCEE)
- M. Sarkar (ECE)

K. Moon (ME)



AD-HOC COMMITTEES (CONT...)

STUDENT SUCCESS FEE COMMITTEE: (Chaired by the Assistant Dean for Student Affairs, (2) Faculty members, selected by the Department Chairs, will serve each year on a rotating basis. AE & ME members serve in odd years; CCEE & ECE members serve in even years)

T. Garcia (Assistant Dean of Student Affairs) - Chair

P. Popov (AE)

A. Kinoshita (CCEE)

K. Huang (ECE)

K. Moon (ME)

DIVERSITY, EQUITY & INCLUSION COUNCIL COMMITTEE:

Chair of the Council shall be a Diversity Liaison elected by the Council at the beginning of each academic year. Members consist of (2) CoE Diversity Liaisons, (1) tenured or tenure/track faculty member from each Department, (1) full-time lecturer, (1) staff member, (1) graduate student, and (1) undergraduate student. The terms of the service committee members who are not students shall be two years, with no limit to the number of consecutive terms served. The terms of service for student committee members may be one or two years. This committee and structure was approved at the 8/7/2019 Executive Committee Meeting.

<u>Diversity Liaisons</u> M. Sarkar (ECE) - Chair T. Garcia (Assistant Dean of Student Affairs)

<u>Tenure/Tenure-Track Faculty</u> G. Jacobs (AE) T. Alves (CCEE) J. Camacho (ME)

<u>Full-Time Lecturer</u> P. Kaveh (ECE)

<u>Staff Member</u> M. Bunn, Femineer® & STEM Outreach

Graduate Student Maricruz Carrillo

<u>Undergraduate Student</u> Olivia DiSanto (CESC President 2019-20) Sheridan Irvine (CESC VP of Programming 2019-20; CESC President's Designee)