

COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING RETREAT Minutes of

Thursday, August 22, 2019 Templo Mayor Conference Room, Conrad Prebys Aztec Student Union

Faculty Members Present: J. Abraham, R. Akhavian, B. Aksanli, A. Alimohammad, T. Alves, A. Ashrafi, A. Bani Younes, A. Beyene, A. Bhalla, S. Bhattacharjee, J. Camacho, J. Chen, L. Demasi, C. Dykstra, A. Engin, T. Garcia, T. Garoma, S. Ghanipoor Machiani, M. Gupta, K. Huang, A. Jahangiri, T. Johnston, J. Kang, S. Kassegne, P. Katira, J. Katz, A. Kinoshita, X. Liu, P. Lu, S. Manshadi, K. May-Newman, C. Mi, M. Miletic, F. Miller, T. Mitropoulos, N. Mladenov, K. Moon, K. Morsi, B. Narang, D. Nguyen, E. Olevsky, Y. Ozturk, C. Paolini, S. Park, A. Plotkin, P. Popov, M. Sarkar, S. Seshagiri, S. Sharma, J. Supernak, H. Tavakol, Y. Teh, H. Töreyin, R. Tummala, J. Valdes, S. Venkataraman, M. Verbyla, K. Wood, J. Xie, W. Xu, G. Youssef

<u>Members Absent</u>: Z. Bayasi, R. Betancourt, R. Dowell, R. Kline, S. Kumar, S. Nagaraj, P. Naseradinmousavi, H. Nourollahi, V. Ponce, R. Sabzehgar

Members Excused: G. Jacobs (event), N. Nosseir (FERP), A. Szeto (FERP)

<u>Staff Members Present</u>: Paul Ahlers, Bianca Avina, Meti Belay, Angelica Bouras, Nicole Brokaw, Michelle Bunn, Kate Carinder, Natasha Celise, Elisa East, Brittany Field, Donovan Geiger, Amy Jensen, Allyson Korba, Jacqueline Lane, Michael Lester, Sandy Maxwell, Marcie Morihiro, Ku Moua, William Nguyen, Eric Pamintuan, Bianca Portal, Michele Ritchie, Damien Rosales, Alexandria Santos, Julie Smitherman, Missy Stump, Luis Topete, Dr. Youxian Wu

Guests: Provost Hector Ochoa, AVP Radmila Prislin, Padma Nagappan, Melissa Porter, Kara Peterson

Dean Olevsky called the meeting to order at 1:10 pm.

Faculty voted and approved for Dr. Wenwu Xu to be College of Engineering for 2-year term, beginning 8/2019 and ending 8/2021.

1. Welcome Remarks to Faculty & Staff

Dean Olevsky welcomed new faculty and staff members of CoE, including: i) Assistant Professors, Drs. Pavel Popov (AE), Reza Akhavian (CCEE), Marta Miletic (CCEE), Junfei Xie (ECE), John Kang (ME), Sean Park (ME), and Yang Yang (ME - Spring 2020); ii) Interim Assoc. Dean for Graduate Studies & Research, Dr. Temesgen Garoma and Interim Assoc. Dean for Undergraduate Studies, Dr. Yusuf Ozturk; and iii) New Staff: Nicole Brokaw, AE Department Coordinator.

2. Faculty Award

Dr. Satchi Venkataraman, AE Professor, was awarded the \$2K Northrop Grumman 2018-19 Excellence in Teaching Award.

3. Dr. Hector S. Ochoa, Provost & Senior VP

Provost Ochoa presented at the CoE Retreat. Dr. Ochoa acknowledged that he had been informed on the status of the research achievement in the CoE, e.g., the research grant dollars doubled in the past six years. The Provost was also aware of some of the current issues in the CoE from discussions with Dean Olevsky. He expressed his intent to help solve the issues in the CoE, and other challenges such

as the development of the Graduate/Ph.D. programs. Provost Ochoa's remarks were followed by a brief Q&A with the Faculty & Staff.

4. CoE Undergraduate Program Update

Dean Olevsky provided the following updates on the CoE Undergraduate Program:

i) Overall activities focus on the reduction of the units required for students to graduate; discussions continue on topics of increasing summer course participation, developing online classes and preparing for ABET; ii) Discussion and explanation of the eligibility index for the Engineering undergraduate enrollment; and iii) Summer enrollment FTES – will try to increase FTES for summer 2020, so the CoE can become profitable.

5. CoE Graduate Studies & Research Program Update

Dean Olevsky provided the following updates on the CoE Graduate Studies & Research Program: i) Grant/funding University-wide, Engineering is doing well (comparable with College of Science) in terms of per faculty funding; ii) Graduate enrollment has been declining over the years, and CoE needs to increase the number of graduate students; iii) Research update of CoE was given with comparisons amongst the CoE Departments in terms of grant/funding and publications per Faculty or Department; iv) JDP updates: dramatic growth in the past few years, with ~50 students in Fall 2019; and v) Master's Program numbers were provided for CoE Departments and we need to increase the Master's enrollment.

6. Community & Communications Update

Dean Olevsky provided updates on the Femineer", MESA, and Troops to Engineers programs.

7. Approval of 4/23/2019 Faculty Minutes

Dr. George Youssef made a motion to approve the 4/23/2019 Faculty Minutes and the motion was seconded by Dr. Madhu Gupta. The 4/23/2019 Faculty Minutes were unanimously approved by the Faculty.

Break (3:00pm - 3:10pm)

8. Strategic Communications & Public Affairs – Padma Nagappan & Melissa Porter

- i) Padma Nagappan, Science/Research Writer, Strategic Communications & Public Affairs, gave a presentation on the ways that StratComm can help Faculty to increase publicity of the CoE to attract funds and students, through SDSU NewCenter stories, social media posts, media promotions, visuals, etc. In addition to research-related news, student news and community connections are also appropriate for StratComm. She also emphasized that visuals help greatly and suggested that Faculty try to take photos during events for future news purposes.
- ii) Melissa Porter, Social Media Strategist, Strategic Communications & Public Affairs, presented on the topic of social media promoting research visibility and awareness. She suggested that videos should be less than 60 seconds and she can help promote faculty work on SDSU social media such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc.

For questions, please contact: Padma Nagappan: pnagappan@sdsu.edu and Melissa Porter: mporter2@sdsu.edu

9. Academic Affairs Budget Process - Dr. Radmila Prislin

Dr. Radmila Prislin, AVP Academic Affairs Resource Management gave a presentation which explained the Academic Affairs Budget Process, including: i) where the operating fund for SDSU comes from, including state general fund, resident tuition net, non-resident tuition, student success fees, course fees, open university revenue, cost recovery, and lottery money; ii) explained how the revenue-based resources are allocated; iii) explained the General Funding (GF) budget timeline; and

iv) Dr. Prislin urged Faculty to get involved at different levels of the budgeting process and get to know their College representatives of ADC, UGC, URC, ARP, and PBAC.

10. Fall 2019 Engineering Building Construction Projects – Kara Peterson

Kara Peterson, Design Administrator - Project Management, provided updates on construction projects and work zones for E-120: 9/9/2019-end of December and Main Building (E108/E108A, E202G, E207, E300A/300B/E301, E427): November-January. Questions regarding Engineering construction projects should be sent to: kara.peterson@sdsu.edu.

11. 2019-2020 College of Engineering Committee Elections

Dean Olevsky organized two votes for the following CoE Committee positions:

- 1) Faculty voted and approved Dr. Julio Valdes for the position of College Parlimentarian with a 2-year term ending 8/2021.
- 2) Faculty voted by secret ballot for the College of Engineering Representative to the UPTRP Committee. The two candidates were: Dr. Kee Moon and Dr. Khaled Morsi. Based on the final counting of the votes, Dr. Khaled Morsi was approved as CoE UPTRP Representative with a 2-year term ending 8/2021.

Dr. Yusuf Ozturk motioned to adjourn the meeting and Dr. Luciano Demasi seconded the motion, and Dean Olevsky adjourned the meeting at 4:50 pm.

Minutes submitted by Dr. Wenwu Xu, August 28, 2019